Sanwo-Olu, Makinde, Abiodun, AbdulRazaq, Buni, others win

Story Highlights
  • Winners of governorship elections have been declared

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday declared Governors Seyi Makinde (Oyo), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Muhammadu Yahaya (Gombe), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe) and AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara) the winners of Saturday’s governorship election.

Also, the Peoples Democratic Party candidate in Akwa Ibom State, Pastor Umo Eno; Dr Dikko Radda of the Katsina State All Progressives Congress and his counterpart in Jigawa State, Namadi Dammodi, emerged as the governors-elect.

The APC candidate in the Sokoto State governorship election, Ahmad Sokoto, similarly emerged as the governor-elect in the state, while Borno State Governor, Babagana Zulum was set for victory having won the 22 local government areas declared so far in the state on Sunday.

There were also strong indications that the Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed, would be re-elected as he emerged victorious in 14 out of the 19 LGAs results declared as of 10.21 pm on Sunday, while his closest rival, Sadique Abubakar of the APC won five local government areas.

Similarly, the APC candidate in Benue, Rev Fr. Hyacinth Alia, is currently leading his opponents in the results so far declared by the electoral commission.

Makinde of the PDP was declared the winner of the governorship poll in Oyo State after scoring 563,756 votes to beat his closest rival, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressive Congress scored 256,685 votes.

Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party scored 38,357 votes. Makinde, in an interview with newsmen, shortly after he won re-election said he was overwhelmed by the show of love showered on him by the people of the state.

A statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Taiwo Adisa, said the governor was joined by his wife, Tamunominimin and flanked by family members, friends and associates while celebrating the victory at his residence located in the Ikolaba area of Ibadan.

He thanked the good people of the state for the confidence reposed in his administration and his ability to lead them.

Makinde said, “The incoming administration which is tagged Omituntun 2.0, is a film that will be a lot better, sweeter and more effective when compared to Omituntun 1.0.

“Right now, I am just overwhelmed. I want to thank the good people of the state for the confidence they have reposed in this administration and my ability to lead them.’’

Governor Abiodun secured a second term in office after polling 276,298 votes to defeat his PDP opponent, Oladipupo Adebutu, who scored 262,383 votes and 12 other candidates.

The returning officer of the governorship election in Ogun State, Prof. Kayode Adebowale declared Abiodun at the collation centre of the commission in the state.

According to him, the total number of registered voters was 2,688,305, while accredited voters were 666,406.

Adebowale said a total of 645,133 votes were valid while 18,835 votes were rejected out of the 663,968 total votes cast.

Sanwo-Olu was re-elected as he polled the highest number of votes in the governorship election held on Saturday. The results were announced on Sunday at INEC’s collation centre in Yaba, Lagos.

The governor was declared the winner with 762,134 votes while his closest rival, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party, polled 312,329 votes. The candidate of the PDP, Olajide Adediran, came third with 62,449 votes.

Sanwo-Olu re-elected

Sanwo-Olu won in 19 LGAs, while Rhodes-Vivour emerged victorious in Amuwo Odofin LGA, as announced by the Returning Officer, Adenike Oladiji, who is the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Akure, Ondo State.

Earlier, Oladiji said, “This place is a collation centre and what that then means is that we will be collating results as they have come from the different LGAs from the polling units.

“What that means is we do not generate results and that means we are given to influence anything here. We only collate what comes to us and to ensure that we do it correctly, what we do is to test the correctness of values as the results are announced.”

Kwara gov wins

In Kwara State, the state governor and APC candidate garnered 273,424 votes to beat his closest rival, Alhaji Yaman Abdullahi of the PDP scored 155,490 votes in the election.

Announcing the results at the INEC office, Ilorin on Sunday, the returning officer for the state governorship election and Vice-Chancellor, University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Prof Isaac Itodo, said Abdulrazaq won in all the 16 local government councils in the state, including Ilorin South, Ilorin West, Ilorin East, Offa, Oyun, Ifelodun, Irepodun, Oke-Ero, Ekiti, Patigi, Edu, Kaiama and Baruten Local Governments.

Itodo disclosed that 470,771 voters were accredited for the election while 460,497 votes were declared valid and over 4,000 votes were invalid.

In Gombe, Yahaya won a second term in office polling 342,821 to overwhelm his closest challenger and PDP candidate, Muhammad Barde, who scored 233,131 and the NNPP’s Khamisu Mailantarki recorded 19,861.

The state returning officer, Prof Maimuna Waziri, who doubles as the Vice Chancellor of Federal University Gashua, Yobe State, declared the results at the collation centre on Sunday.

Our correspondent reports that Barde won two LGAs while the governor cleared nine others to emerge victorious.

Punch newspaper
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply